Midnight secret.

The bruises were my midnight secret.

They came to me in the darkness of the night, after I had put our children to sleep. They etched patterns on my self from the broken bits of the empty bottle. The bottles you had emptied.

They came as I tried to put you back in bed, much like I did with our children. They left the marks of the cigarette that had once died on your lips.

They came as the night came, dark and all-consuming. They left with the morning, as our kids left for school and you, in search of new methods to drown us.

The bruises were my midnight secret. I took them to the grave.

I’m in heaven now. But you will burn in hell for all of eternity. 

 

 

 

 

5 comments

  1. Addison Greene · July 2, 2016

    Powerful.

    Like

  2. nonsmokingladybug · July 3, 2016

    I hope that this is fiction for you and always will be.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hiya. · July 3, 2016

      It is. But I am haunted by these stories, and the fact that someone somewhere may be living one.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

